Potted History of Burnham Bowls Club
It is said that the Doomsday Book of 1086 cited Burnham as being the largest village in England.
During the First World War, two villagers, Charles Stannard and Frankie Hayward obtained some bowls and a jack from a jumble sale held at the Canadian Red Cross Hospital at Taplow. Mr Hayward owned the land used by Burnham Rifle Club in Aldbourne Road and, over the next few years, half of this land was made flat enough to enable bowls to be played.
In 1922 Burnham Bowls Club was properly formed and affiliated to the County Association. Village trades people, shopkeepers and businessmen were encouraged to take an interest and become Vice Presidents of the Club for a small annual fee.
At the beginning of the Second World War one third of the green was given over to “Dig for Victory” to grow vegetables and was never returned. The Club continued to use the remaining area (4 rinks), taking part in both home and away fixtures (travel to away fixtures was undertaken by bicycle) with Members’ wives playing when there were not enough men available.
In the 1950’s Ladies were allowed to join the Club as full members, paying the same subscription as the men.
In 1975, the Club moved to the present site in Stomp Road, after negotiating a lease with Burnham Parish Council. The old green was sold for £10,000, which provided the funds to lay the green at Stomp Road and build the Clubhouse.
At one time the membership list was closed at 150 members. Although membership numbers are not at that level today, we have a vibrant club
with a good number of playing and social members.
We are also proud that we have been a fully mixed club (ladies and men) since the 1950’s.